While I continue working on my [S]instinct series, I figured I would post something to fill time.

I don’t know if it’s of any benefit to anyone, but, if you’re curious, here is a glimpse through the clouds into the mind of doubt. I wrote this during my senior year at NCU. Perhaps it will help you understand the questions of your friends, perhaps it will help you in the midst of your own questions.

Whatever it does, I wanted to publish it because I was happy with how it turned out. Interested in hearing any feedback.

This wide ocean of faith is difficult to swim in. The mind begins to clamber, to tread water, to seek a foothold in some ounce of land. The depths seem impenetrable and dangerous, the heights, unattainable. With no land in sight, I am left afloat. I do not know what manner of thing might punctuate the silence, punctuate the loneliness, or punctuate this time-stretching dread. What might live in the icy depths beneath? What might live in gray skies above? Am I seen, or am I truly alone? This water, black, both keeps me alive and signals my possible fate. This wide ocean of faith is difficult to swim in. The doubt and fear like icy temperature cloud my mind. Am I alone? Will no one come to my rescue? Will no one give me light? Where is the hope? Surely, my faith is strong, I’m swimming in it. But where is the hope? “Faith is being sure of what we hope for and evidence for things unseen.” “Blessed are they who believe and have not seen.”

This situation I am faced with is the same which faced Peter. This water can be walked on or drowned in. The same water that holds him up might also silence him.

Bio: Josiah is a graduate of North Central University in Minneapolis, MN. His thirst for knowledge is only surpassed by his thirst for coffee. Thus, much free time is spent in the quest for the next fix.

For quicker updates, subscribe to the RSS feed.